HOLY SITH! “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” Teaser Reaction

The teaser for J.J. Abrams’ Star Wars: The Force Awakens has made its way across the Internet in less than 12 parsecs. Read a breakdown of the teaser along with Nick and Ryan’s reactions below.

We fade in on a sandy landscape.

starwars1

We hear a voice-over by Benedict Cumberbatch. (Correction: According to Yahoo TV, the VO is by Andy Serkis) “There has been an awakening. Have you felt it?”

A helmet-less stormtrooper (John Boyega) rises into frame.

starwars2

starwars3

Cut to a soccer ball-like (or futbol to some) droid rolling speedily across the frame from right to left.

starwars4

Next we see stormtroopers on a ship.

Nick: After the CGI orgy that was the prequel trilogy, I can’t tell you how happy I was to see guys in actual stormtrooper armor. It’s the little things in life…

starwars5

They arm their weapons.

starwars6

The ship’s hatch drops.

starwars7

A young woman (Daisy Ridley) rushes off on a hovercraft.

starwars8

starwars9

Ryan: The sound design is great in the teaser. I love those wah wah WAH WAH sounds. 

Next we see a close-up of an X-wing pilot, followed by three X-wings speeding from left to right.

Is the X-wing pilot below our first glimpse of actor Oscar Isaac? Note the Rebellion’s symbol on the pilot’s helmet. Clearly, the galactic war goes on. 

starwars10

starwars11

A character shrouded in black walks through a dark, snowy forest. Cumberbatch (Serkis!) VO: “The Dark Side…” They draw their lightsaber. Red. Fiery. The plasma comes out of the sides of the saber, creating a cross-like look.

starwars12

I assume this is Adam Driver, who is rumored to play the movie’s main villain. Clearly the Dark Side wasn’t destroyed in Return of the Jedi. Looks like lightsabers have been redesigned.

It could be Driver, but I’m not sure…and that’s just the way I like it. On that note, I might as well come right out with my feelings about this whole thing…

I feel that what we’ve been given today is a successful tease. How do know that? For starters, I have no less than a hundred-and-one questions turning over in my head right now.

“Who’s that?! What’s that? How did this and that and THAT happen?!”

With more than thirty-years separating us from A New Hope‘s first release and three incredibly lackluster prequels still a sore spot for fans, it’s nothing short of incredible that people still care enough to break down an 88 second teaser trailer shot by shot. A lot of us shouldn’t care. I know I shouldn’t, but here I am…

With that being said, I’m guardedly optimistic; just as much today as I was the day I first heard about the new trilogy…maybe even more so. Nevertheless, I still feel as though I’m on cloud-9 after watching the teaser at my kitchen table. Today is a good day.

Come next December, it will be impossible for Episode VII to meet everybody’s expectations; the sooner we admit that the better. But for the rest of today I’m going to keep riding this wave of enthusiasm and give director J.J. Abrams, writer Lawrence Kasdan, and the creative crew both above and below the line a big thumbs up. 

I was smiling through the whole thing.

“And the Light.”

Cut to the Millennium Falcon racing by, corkscrewing in the air and whizzing by two attacking TIE fighters.

starwars13

starwars14

BA BUM BA BA BA BUM BUM BA BA BA BUM BUM BUM BUM BUM BUUUMMMM.

starwars16

One comment

  1. Here’s one of my two cents: I like how this trailer shows nothing of the “Stars.” None of it is in space. I didn’t really notice until looking at the screenshot breakdowns, but this is a little feature that excites me. I think it grounds the atmosphere some; makes it all the more realistic (avoid the CGI obesity).

    However, don’t get me wrong–the idea of a Star Destroyer-looking-thing will get my blood a’pumping.

    One more thing. Maybe the elephant in the room. What is to be said about none of the original cast showing up in the teaser? I think it’s an excellent idea; restraint is important with this new trilogy. But what’s your thoughts?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

